Chicken Spaghetti Casserole

One thing to know about me is that I am more of a baker than a cook.  For some reason (probably my insatiable sweet tooth), I would much rather spend my time in the kitchen measuring sugar, flour, butter, and chocolate chips than making dinner for my fiance.

However, in my effort to save our wallets from several nights of take-out, I wanted to start developing a little repertoire of easy go-to recipes and the first recipe that I attempted was this one that I found from one of my all-time favorite bloggers, The Pioneer Woman.  Ree Drummund lives the freakin dream.

The Pioneer Woman’s recipe is called Chicken Spaghetti.

I took this recipe and made it a little more simpler and girl-on-the-go friendly. Here is my version

10 oz of spaghetti
1 can of Creamy Chicken Soup
1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 cup of light sour cream
1 can of Rotel tomato and green chile
1/2 cup of Parmesean Cheese

chickspagingredients

The first thing I got going was the pasta. I cooked it according to the directions on the box.

cookingspag

I then took out a 9×13 pan and mixed the sour cream, cream of chicken soup, cream of mushroom soup, can of chicken, and rotel together all in the pan.

chxmixPlease excuse the resemblance to baby food or baby whatever.  This is good stuff.

(I forgot to take a photo with the Rotel mixed in but essentially it looks the same but with tomatoes and green chile in the mix 🙂

Next I mixed in the cooked spaghetti in to the pan, then spread it out evenly.  I sprinkled the parmesan cheese all over and then stuck it in the over for 45 minutes.

spagparm

I took it out and served it with a side of veggies and a piece of cheese Texas toast.

chxspag dinner

Oh and btdubs, the Fiance loved it!

I hope you like it too!

Liz-Signature-small

Leave a Reply

